I let my kids wear costumes and terrorize my horse

24 Jan

FINALLY!

I was finally able to ride yesterday. It is the first time in nearly two weeks. Rain, mud, cold, sick kids… Finally got to enjoy the lovely 60degree weather and take my lovely Stella for a ride.

Odd thing, though. I had not one, not two, but three people stop to watch me.

The first was an elderly woman. She has stopped before. Every time I go to approach her, though (to see if she is lost or needs something), she drives off. Weird, but whatever. At least I know how to get rid of her in case I’m not in the mood for an audience!

The second were two older women. They actually talked to me, saying that they have been trying to catch me while I was riding so that they can see me jump. Yeah, well… yesterday was the first time I had even been on a horse in two weeks… at best, some balancing exercises over an X. That’s exactly what I did, actually.

The third woman showed up as I was untacking. She had been walking her dogs and just stopped to watch. I told her that I had just finished and was actually in the process of unbridling. Her and I chatted for a couple of minutes…. she had a couple of foo-foo dogs, which Tenn was determined to pet, though he was repeatedly told not to!

Secret: I have terrible stage-fright while in the show ring. It is one of the MAIN things that keeps me from going to a show. I can’t explain it. It is something I’ve always dealt with. Ride like a pro at home, then have a meltdown in the show ring. So, I’m not really big on having audiences, especially after a two week break and when Stella isn’t (wasn’t) giving into her left side (we spent nearly 15minutes just working leg yields!). Again, I don’t know why! It is my craft… my thing… the thing I was born doing, yet I keep it to myself. My shyness aggravates my husband, who believes I should be competing head-to-head with the leaders in our region. At least I know he has faith in me, whether misplaced or not ;).

As usual, at the end of my ride, I let the boys pony around. They decided that they needed to dress like super heros, making this one extra fun… for me, not necessarily for Stella, who has a face of complete disgust throughout the short iphone set:

And, before someone crawls out of the woodwork… YES, my kids all have and wear HELMETS. They just wanted to show off their costumes. They didn’t do any “riding” without a helmet. 
Now that we’ve squashed that….
I put Cali for sale on craigslist. I doubt my ad will actually SELL my horse, but it definitely made me feel better writing it. My intentions were to weed out the brainless who wake up one day, thinking “Gee, I want a horse!” but I fear I’m a bit too brash. It did keep me entertained
Finally, Blogger’s video uploader basically sucks. I posted a short video of Nola trying to kill me via a Red Bull box. youtube. Yes, I drop an F-bomb. But, daaaaaaamn, those claw be zarp. 
3 Responses to “I let my kids wear costumes and terrorize my horse”

  1. Nikola January 24, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

    Super cute pics. What was Mahkah? Sky was Luigi last year for Halloween, too. :)BTW, I'm thinking of a possible spur of the moment road trip down south to get away from snow. How's your house?

  2. mcclewis January 25, 2011 at 3:29 pm #

    M was batman, though we have no idea where his mask is. Weather or actual house? Actual house… we will make room lol. Weather is wet, but much warmer then anything you're going through. If you'd rather wait and plan, Fat Tuesday is March 7th. We won't be able to go Tuesday b/c boys and husband have school, but we are planning on going Saturday prior. Trying to decide whether or not to do like last year and have a family outing, hitting the parades uptown, or if we should leave the kids and have an adult day. Either way, we're going… and so should you! 🙂

  3. ZHENYA ZHURAVLYOVA January 27, 2011 at 10:47 am #

    so interesting!))

Leave a Reply

